JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION

Appointment of Quazi Judges in Terms of the Muslim Marriage and Divorce Act (Chapter 115) for the 'Quazi' post in the Areas Indicated in the following Schedule - 2025

Persons with following qualifications may apply

Applicant should be a Muslim male who is a graduate of a recognized University or a Moulavi holding a certificate from an institution recognized by the Ministry in charge of Muslim Religious and Cultural Affairs or a holder of the Al-Alim certificate issued by the Department of Education or an Attorney at Law or a holder of other similar qualification or a retired public servant who has held office in staff grade.

A person currently holding a permanent post in the public service shall not be eligible to apply.

Applicant should possess a good knowledge of Islam Religion, should be married and over 40 years of age, should be physically fit and of good character and standing in the community and possessing a sound knowledge of the law relating to Muslim Marriage and Divorce Act and specially of the Muslim Law.

The selected applicant will be appointed for a period, which will be specified in the letter of appointment.

It is a legal requirement that a Quazi should permanently reside in the area for which he is appointed.

A Quazi will be paid a monthly allowance of Rs. 7,500 and an additional all inclusive allowance of Rs. 6,250 per month for the cost of support services, stationery and postal expenses.

Applications prepared as per the specimen below, should be sent by Registered Post to reach me on or before 30th of April 2025 with word 'Quazi' written on the top left hand corner of the envelope. Originals of documents should not be forwarded with the application.

ANANDHI KANAGARATNAM, Senior Assistant Secretary, Judicial Service Commission.

Judicial Service Commission Secretariat, P.O. Box - 573 Colombo - 12 28th of March, 2025.

Schedule

	Quazi Court	Jurisdiction area of Quazi Court
01	Badulla	Administrative District of Badulla.
02	Beruwala	Beruwala D.S. division in Kalutara District
03	Colombo South	Slave Island, Cinnamon Garden, Kollupitiya, Bambalapitiya, Havelock Town, Narahenpita, Wella Wellawatta and Kirulapone areas
04	Kattankudy	Revenue divisions of Manmunaipattu North and South, Eruvil and Poraitivu in Batticaloa District.
05	Matale	Judicial Zone of Matale in Matale District
06	Mawanella	Judicial division of Mawanella in Kegalle District
07	Puttalam & Chilaw	Puttalam & Chilaw Judicial Zone (Except Kalpitiya D. S. division) in Puttalam District
08	Sammanthurai (Wewagam Pattu)	D. S. division of Sammanthurai No. 01, 02, Malkampitiya, Nainakadu, Malwattha, Navithanweli and Annaivili area in Ampara District
09	Udathalawinna (Uda, Meda & Pahatha Dumbara)	Revenue divisions of Udu Dumbara, Meda Dumbara & Pahatha Dumbara in Kandy District
10	Jaffna	Judicial Zone of Jaffna, Point-Pedro & Kayts in Jaffna District